How can I find answers to Google Apps questions?
- Google it! Many answers to your specific questions are easily found through an Internet search
- This page may answer your question. Alternatively, use "Search this site" (top right corner)
- Search our "Google Apps Learning Center" Google Group for your answer or submit it for others to reply to
- If you still don't find your answer, submit your question to the Global Help Desk via the HelpDesk system, by email or by phone (704-843-6620 or 800-215-7813)
How do I get a Google Apps account?
If you need an account for a SIL field assignment, read our "creating email accounts for field assigned personal" (on the Insite wiki). If you are a member of or assigned to Wycliffe USA, contact the Wycliffe USA email admin team for a @wycliffe.org account. Otherwise, you are probably looking for an account from the Global Alliance team and can submit a ticket request by email.
Which apps will be enabled and supported by GTIS for SIL?
- Google Mail, Google Calendar, Google Contacts
- Google Drive
- Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides
- Google Hangouts/Chat
- Google Groups
- Google Forms
- Google Keep
- Google Sites
- Inbox by Gmail
Which apps will be enabled BUT not supported by GTIS for SIL?
- Google Analytics
(See http://gtis.sil.org for a contact that may be able to help).
- Google Classroom
- plus other apps
Which apps will not be enabled by GTIS for SIL?
Merchant Center, Orkut, and Web history will not be enabled.
When leaving the organization, what happens to my account's content?
There is confusion about when an account needs to be removed. Many believe simply leaving an assignment with SIL results in closing the account. Not true. We recommend you check SIL's policy posted on the wiki.
If your account is being closed soon, we advise you to copy/move any personal content (email, contacts info, Google Drive files) before you leave. Particularly consider what Google Drive content you have created and/or shared with others that should be passed along to someone else, not deleted. If you don't know how to transfer ownership of these files, contact a local mail administrator or SIL Google Admin.
We also advise you to immediately alert personal contacts of an alternate email address to begin using. You can use the built-in Vacation Response option to do this but a more advanced option is Google Lab's "canned response" add-in. Note that both of these automated notification tools stop when the account is removed.
In those cases where the account is not yours but is for someone under your supervision, here are some actions you should take before the account is removed:
- Ask the account owner to manually transfer ownership of individual files or folders to the appropriate person
- If the entire email and/or Google Drive content is to be passed to a single person, contact SIL Google Admin who should be able to do this as a bulk transfer BEFORE the account is removed.
- SIL Google Admin as one final opportunity at the time the account is deleted to transfer ownership ot the account's entire Google Drive to another account. Unless they are notified at/before that time, the content will be permanently deleted.
- Consider subscribing the account to the Backupify service that GTIS offers (free for 2017). This will back up account content to an external system which remains available, even with the account is removed from Google.
When logging into my Google Apps account, Google asks me about a gtempaccount.com account. What is this?
This situation arises when someone signed up for some Google app (perhaps a blog, etc) in the past but, instead of getting a personal Gmail account, decided to use their work @sil.org (or jaars.org, etc) email address as their id to access this part of Google. Google had no problem at the time since @sil.org as an email system wasn't connected to Google at all, but was on JARMail.
Then we decided to move our email service to Google Apps and created work accounts there. The next time this person tries to log into Google, Google realizes there is a Google Apps account with that id as well as the same (but old) id used to access a part of Google that isn't tied to Google Apps. At that point, Google renames the first (personal) account as something with @gtempacccount.com in it, so that Google can keep everything separate. That temporary account still uses the original password and the user can log into that account and still get at the stuff they'd been getting at before we moved to Google. Eventually the user has the option to rename the account to something else and keep on using it OR they can choose to delete the account (and lose whatever content or services where associated with that account).
How can I do a security and privacy checkup of my Google Apps account?
In Google Apps, head to your account (the circular icon with your photo or your initial) > My Account > Personal info & privacy > Privacy Checkup > Get started. This will walk you through various parts of your account, starting with your Google+ profile (if enabled), providing an explanation of each setting and letting you review and change them. When done with each section, click NEXT.
At the end, you can return to your account but we recommend you select "VISIT SECURITY CHECKUP".
The section lets you review/enter a recovery phone number, see what devices have accessed your account, enable/change the "Allow for less secure apps
" setting, and check your account permissions.
Also available under the Personal info & privacy section:
7 Ways to Identify and Protect Against Phishing Emails in Google Apps
Phishing is a fraudulent attempt to trick individuals into sharing personal and sensitive information. The attempt typically involves a crafted email with hyperlinks to a website intentionally created to collect information from unsuspecting victims. Take a look at this online article
to begin learning how avoid falling prey to a phishing attack through your Google Apps account.
|Selection||File type icon||File name||Description||Size||Revision||Time||User|